The Partnership for Better Health’s, Champions for Better Health, recognizes distinguished community volunteers, health care providers, business leaders, philanthropists and youth whose work plays a vital role in advancing the health and wellness of our region. Each year around March community members are invited to nominate local health champions whose work and service makes our community a healthy place for everyone to live, work and play.

The 2017 Champions for Better Health award honorees:

Volunteer of the Year Cathy Campbell who has donated time with the Drew Michael Taylor Foundation’s grief support program. She got involved after her son Christopher died. Campbell coordinates the meals for the grief support program and facilitates the GriefKnits monthly support group where she teaches grievers how to knit.
Business of the YearStudio Z of Shippensburg and its owner Amanda Courson. The fitness studio was started three years ago to provide an environment for people to reach their better health goals.
Youth Champions of the Year The Boiling Springs High School Mini-Thon club under the leadership of teacher Katherin Slentz. The 2017 school Mini-Thon raised $51,722 for the Four Diamonds Fund, which helps defray costs associated with treatments not covered by insurance for children with cancer. Students this year raised $15,000 more for the charity than the previous year.
Philanthropist of the Year The Shippensburg University Foundation acquires financial resources to support students, professors and academic and extracurricular programs. One of its major initiatives is to provide scholarships for students.
Nonprofit of the YearCommunity County Aid Panel is a community-based alternative to traditional case processing of juvenile offenders that promotes accountability and competency development, victim participation and reparation while increasing community involvement awareness and investment. Since 2003, over 3,042 youths have completed the program putting in almost 43,000 hours of community service for organizations like Project SHARE, the Salvation Army and Safe Harbour.
Youth Advocate of the Year Thomas Palmer, a volunteer on the youth aid panel for 13 years and its current chairman. He has worked with hundreds of youths over the years.
Victim Advocate of the Year Dorothy Andrews who, for the past years, has co-facilitated AMEND, a group managed by the Domestic Violence Services of Cumberland and Perry counties. The AMEND program focuses on men who have committed intimate partner violence. An advocate for nonviolence, Andrews teaches a gender course at Shippensburg University, speaks to medical providers about the impact of domestic violence, serves on the sexual assault advisory committee at YWCA Carlisle and presents workshops on teen dating violence.
Physician of the YearDr. Marsha Novick, medical director of Pediatric Multidisciplinary Weight Loss Program at the Penn State Hershey Children’s Hospital. For 13 years, she has specialized in obesity medicine and has helped thousands of children, teenagers and their families with weight management and wellness treatment.
Wellness Professional of the Year Nancy Routch, a registered dietitian and educator for the Penn State Extension. Her focus has been on improving the quality of life for individuals and family by providing needs-based programs on nutrition, diet and health issues and topics.
Nurse Educator of the YearCatherine Flickinger and her support group Taste of Sugar. This free support group provides education for people already diagnosed with diabetes or pre-diabetes and those wanting to avoid the disease all together. Instruction focuses on healthy eating, healthy activities and using technology to monitor blood sugar levels and overall health.
Community Impact AwardDuane Nieves is Director of Field Operations; Chief of Holy Spirit EMS—A Geisinger Affiliate. He serves on Cumberland County’s Community Opiate Overdose Prevention Coalition, which is dedicated to confronting the epidemic by reducing overdoses through effective outreach and education. Chief Nieves has worked tirelessly to prevent drug use and addiction, to promote treatment and to raise awareness about the alarming increase in drug use and drug related deaths.
He has played a pivotal role in assisting all 16 municipal police departments in Cumberland County to deploy naloxone, a medication that reverses the effects of an overdose. Chief Nieves has helped our local police departments create administrative policies that allow their officers to have access to naloxone. Not only has he ensured that the departments are supplied with this medication, but he’s also helped access funding to cover the costs and ensured that our officers are well trained to administer naloxone.
Lifetime Commitment Award in recognition of Dorothy Lingenfelter Dorothy is 91 years young, and her passion for being of service and helping others has led her to be a hospital volunteer for the same hospital for over 41 years. Ms. Lingenfelter has amassed over 16,575 volunteer hours in service to Holy Spirit Hospital. She is an impressive role model, who demonstrates that there’s always more to give. She’s proof that service to others really is one of life’s greatest rewards.